The National African American Insurance Association (NAAIA) was founded by Jerald
L.Tillman, LUTCF, 1997 in Cincinnati, Ohio.  1977, early in his career he realized through his involvement with professional organizations, that there was a disconnect, amongst fellow Black insurance professionals within the insurance industry. As a result, he began pondering the idea of establishing an association for Black professionals involved in all area of insurance.  After twenty years of juggling between building his insurance agency and a national network of black insurance professionals, NAAIA was chartered in Cincinnati, Ohio March 5, 1997, as a tax exempt association under IRC section 501 6.



September 19-22 held the Second Annual Conference at the Hyatt Regency, New Orleans.

Theme: Building Successful Insurance Careers.

NAAIA elects its first Board of Directors and its first Board Chairman, Ms. Denise H. Lloyd, CIC, President / CEO of D.H. Lloyd & Associates, Inc.  Other Members of the first elected Board: Jerald L. Tillman (Founder), Roosevelt Haywood, III (Vice Chair), Raphael Madison (Treasurer), Bill Dooley (Secretary), Robert Willis (Corporate Counsel), Aubrey L. Branch, Patricia Cleveland, Leon Fulton, David Lester, Kenneth Jones, Robert Ellison, Deborah Stroman and Paul White.

April 30-May 3
NAAIA teamed with IIABA to host its 24th National Legislative conference at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in Washington, DC.  IIABA Multicultural Agents Forum and NAAIA collaborated for the first time.

October 28-November 1
the NAAIA, the Latin American Association of Insurance Agents and the IIABA joined forces to host IIABA Annual Convention and InfoXchange.

February 23-24
NAAIA hosts the Regional Conference at the Offices of Atlanta Life Insurance Company Atlanta, Georgia.  Theme: Embracing Strategies for Success.

October 25
NAAIA held a Business Reception and Information Exchange in New York City.  NAAIA contributed $1,500 to the America’s Survivor Relief Fund to support the victims of 9/11.



September 19-21 NAAIA Hosts its Annual Conference at the Hilton Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana.  Theme: Economic Empowerment through Insurance-New Markets, New Opportunities, New Realities.

NAAIA presents its first scholarship to Howard University.

NAAIA elects the Second Board Chair, Mr. Roosevelt Haywood III of Gary, Indiana.



June 11-13 NAAIA charters the Chicago, Illinois Chapter at the first Midwestern Regional Conference in Chicago.

September 19-23 NAAIA hosts the Annual Conference & Empowerment Summit at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, Nevada.  Theme: Increase Your Odds with the NAAIA.



September 16-18 NAAIA hosts its Annual Conference at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago, IL with over 250 attendees; the Conference included its first panel discussion of African-American Insurance Executives and its first formal Gala.
Aubrey L. Branch of Las Vegas is elected the Third Board Chair.
NAAIA charters its first Affiliate Chapter, the Atlanta Association of Insurance Professionals.
NAAIA presents its Lifetime Achievement award to Milton Moses.
NAAIA charters Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Cincinnati, Ohio and the National Capitol/Central Maryland Chapters.

Charmaine Davis is elected the Fourth Board Chair, representing the first company representative from Marsh USA, Inc.



2006 Annual Conference held at the Atlanta Marriott Marquis & Hyatt Regency Hotel.
Theme:  Enhancing Our Future, Embracing diversity.

NAAIA presented Life Time Achievement Awards to Milton Moses and TJ Whatley.

NAAIA charters new chapters in Philadelphia, Cincinnati, Washington DC and Detroit. Charmaine Davis of Washington DC was elected 4th Board Chairman and 1st company (Marsh USA) representative voted in as Chair.



2007 Annual Conference held at the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, Detroit, MI.
Theme:  Building The Community We know.

NAAIA charters Milwaukee, WI as newest chapter.

In November NAAIA participated in a Disaster Tour in New Orleans, Louisiana hosted by NeighborWorks of New Orleans.  NAAIA made a contribution to assist with the rebuild of the community devastated by the hurricanes.



2008 Annual Conference held at the Loews Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pa.
Theme: Building Upon Our Legacy.
Travelers Insurance was our first Conference Co-hosts. 

Ronald Allen was elected as Chairman.

The Mayor of Philadelphia Michael Nutter addressed the NAAIA 2008 Conference. Marvin Kelly, the first African American President of the CPCU Society, was the keynote speaker for the conference.  Mr. Kelly was inducted into NAAIA as an Honorary Member. 

Dallas/Fort Worth was awarded a chapter charter.



2009 Annual Conference at the Palmer House Hilton, Chicago, Il.
Theme: New Beginnings: The Challenges & Opportunities of Change. 
Liberty Mutual was the Conference Co-host for this event.

Illinois Insurance Commissioner Michael McRaith was the opening speaker. 

A new chapter was established in Columbus, Ohio and the Atlanta Affiliate chapter was accepted as a full chapter.

The Lifetime Achievement award was presented to Ernesta Procope, CEO of E J Bowman, and 7 others received recognition awards.  NAAIA hosted its first webinar, and went live with the online Career Resource Center.



2010 Annual Conference held at the Sheraton Dallas, Dallas, TX.
Theme: NAAIA--The Road Ahead.  
ING was the Conference Co-host for this event.  

The Texas Insurance Commissioner, Michael Geeslin, addressed the NAAIA 2010 Conference.  

The Cleveland, Ohio chapter received its charter. 

The Dallas conference set new attendance records. The Hall of Fame Award was presented to 16 insurance professionals  for their outstanding achievement in the insurance industry.  The Dallas conference set new attendance records.



2011 Annual Conference held at the Turnberry Isle Resort, Miami, FL. 
Theme:  Diversity: A Roadmap to New Opportunities. 
Marsh USA was the Conference Co-host for this event.

Mr. David Bidmead, Marsh CEO was the keynote speaker, and included in the other notable speakers was Dr. Randall Pinkett.  The Indianapolis Chapter received its charter. 

Ronald Allen was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.